BSP chief Mayawati
Home Politics Vote against Gehlot’s Government: BSP whip to 6 MLAs who had joined Congress
Politics - 2 weeks ago

Vote against Gehlot’s Government: BSP whip to 6 MLAs who had joined Congress

BSP has issued a press note on Sunday from Delhi that whips its six party MLAs who had joined Congress last year. The whip directs them to vote against Rajasthan’s Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot’s government in any proceeding or no-confidence motion during Assembly session in the state.

The press note, which has been signed by BSP National General Secretary Satish Chandra Misra, says that in case there is violation of party whip, the MLAs will face disqualification under para 2(1) (b) of the Xth Schedule. The MLAs have been notified as per the press note that there cannot be any merger under para (4) of the Xth Schedule since BSP is a National recognized Party. The merger can be valid at state level only if there is a merger of entire BSP.

The whip in issued press note has cited two prior Supreme Court judgements that say non-claimant merger in present case as per any “illegal or unconstitutional order of the Speaker.”

BJP MLA Madan Dilawar too has filed a petition which challenges BSP legislators merger with Congress that happened last year. Plea hearing is scheduled for Monday. BSP has said that it will either intervene in BJP’s plea in high court or will file a separate petition.

Former BSP MLAs Deepchand, Joginder Singh Awana, Wajib Ali, Sandeep Kumar, Rajendra Singh Gudha and Lakhan Singh had been inducted into Congress after they had met Speaker CP Joshi in September to submit merger application with Congress. Currently Congress has 88 MLAs in Rajasthan. This is without the 19 MLAs that had rebelled along with Sachin Pilot. But includes the six MLAs from BSP and the Speaker CP Joshi. Along with that the Congress party in Rajasthan is also backed by 10 independents, 1 RLD MLA and 2 BTP legislators.

Read More:

Check Also

Wrestling National Camp postponed by Wrestling Federation of India

The Wrestling National Camp for women to be scheduled to commence from the second week of …